AvalonBay Communities (AVB)
Real Estate · Residential REITs · NYSE
A leading residential REIT focused on the development and operation of high-quality apartment communities in major high-growth US metropolitan areas.
What AvalonBay Communities does
AvalonBay Communities is a real estate investment trust (REIT) that develops, redevelops, acquires, owns, and operates multi-family apartment communities. Its portfolio primarily focuses on high-barrier-to-entry, high-growth markets in the United States, including the New England, New York/New Jersey, Mid-Atlantic, Pacific Northwest, and Northern/Southern California regions. The company also engages in the management of residential properties and provides development and other related services.
Themes: multi-family real estate, urban housing, residential REITs, property development
Fundamentals
- Pricen/a not available — the last price carried under this symbol was the acquirer's, not this company's; its own last close is not shown until the successor prices are removed
- Market capn/a not available — the last prices under this symbol were the acquirer's, so this figure would be measured across the change and would not describe this company
- 1-year returnn/a not available — the last prices under this symbol were the acquirer's, so this figure would be measured across the change and would not describe this company
- P/En/a not available — the last prices under this symbol were the acquirer's, so this figure would be measured across the change and would not describe this company
- Net margin+37.1% FY2024, SEC XBRL
- ROE+9.1% FY2024, SEC XBRL
- Debt / equity0.75 as of 2026-09-03
- Revenue growth (YoY)+3.4% as of 2026-09-03
- Revenue CAGR (3y)+5.4% SEC XBRL
- Betan/a not available — the last prices under this symbol were the acquirer's, so this figure would be measured across the change and would not describe this company
- Last reported earnings2026-07-23 SEC EDGAR Form 8-K (Item 2.02)
This listing has ended because the company was acquired. The last prices carried under this symbol were the acquirer's, so figures measured across that change are not shown.
Dividend: yield +10.4%; 17-year non-decreasing per-share dividend streak (SEC XBRL).
How AVB compares in its sector
- price-to-earnings ratiobottom 10% 120 covered Real Estate peers, as of 2026-08-24
- net profit margintop 25% 154 covered Real Estate peers, as of 2026-09-03
- operating margintop 10% 96 covered Real Estate peers, as of 2026-09-03
- return on equitymiddle range 158 covered Real Estate peers, as of 2026-09-03
- 3-year revenue CAGRmiddle range 155 covered Real Estate peers
- indicated dividend yieldtop 10% 140 covered Real Estate peers, as of 2026-09-03
Position among covered Real Estate companies that report each metric (minimum 5 peers). A relative position within our covered catalog — not a valuation, quality, or investment judgment. A higher percentile is simply a higher value (for P/E, more expensive on earnings — never "better"). Informational only.
Dividend coverage (FY2025)
Covered by reported results. In FY2025, AVB's dividend was covered by reported results (operating-cash-flow payout 59%). This describes past coverage, not a forecast.
- Earnings payoutnot assessable earnings not reported
- Operating-cash-flow payout59% dividends / operating cash flow — capital spending was not reported, so this does not subtract it
Coverage derived from reported SEC EDGAR XBRL figures for FY2025 (dividends paid vs. net income and free cash flow, same fiscal year). This describes PAST coverage for one fiscal year — it does not predict whether a dividend will be maintained, raised, or cut, and a one-year payout ratio can be distorted by non-recurring items. Informational only — not financial advice.
Analyst consensus
- Consensus ratingHold (2.53 mean, 1=Strong Buy…5=Strong Sell) — 17 analysts
- Mean price target$201.71 range $189.00 – $225.00; median $201.00
Analyst estimates, as of 2026-09-01. These are third-party analyst opinions and price targets, aggregated — not a recommendation, prediction, or advice from stocks-llm. Informational only.
Analyst EPS estimate for AVB
- Consensus EPS estimate$1.18 next reporting period, as of 2026-09-01
- Readings revised upward33% of 3 comparable readings
The consensus estimate for the next reporting period, and how it has moved between readings of that SAME period. A change is measured only between readings estimating one period — when a company reports, the consensus moves to the next quarter and the two numbers are not comparable. Informational only, not a forecast and not advice.
Key risks (from latest filing)
["Significant concentration in specific US geographic markets, making the company vulnerable to local economic downturns or regulatory changes.","Exposure to interest rate fluctuations affecting both the cost of debt and the valuation of real estate assets.","Risks inherent in real estate development, including delays, cost overruns, and zoning/permitting challenges."]
What changed in the latest 10-Q
AI-assisted comparison of AVB's 10-Q filed 2026-07-30 against the prior one filed 2026-05-07.
Management's Discussion & Analysis (MD&A)
- Added:
- Newer filing (2026-07-30) adds a new paragraph describing the Merger Agreement dated May 20, 2026 among the Company, Equity Residential, ERP Operating Limited Partnership, and Canopy Merger Sub LLC, including the exchange ratio of 2.793 Equity Residential common shares per AvalonBay share, expected completion in the second half of 2026, and unanimous board approvals.
- Newer filing (2026-07-30) includes 'Second Quarter 2026 Operating Highlights' with net income attributable to common stockholders of $155,720,000, a decrease of $112,945,000 or 42.0%, attributed to decreased gains from real estate sales and increased expensed transaction, development and other pursuit costs related to the proposed Merger.
- Newer filing (2026-07-30) includes Same Store NOI of $488,552,000 for the three months ended June 30, 2026, an increase of $4,824,000 or 1.0%.
- Newer filing (2026-07-30) includes Other Stabilized Residential NOI of $19,549,000, an increase of $9,275,000.
- Newer filing (2026-07-30) includes Development and Redevelopment Residential NOI of $13,571,000, an increase of $9,007,000.
- Newer filing (2026-07-30) includes 'Second Quarter 2026 Development Highlights' reporting 27 wholly-owned communities under construction expected to contain 9,064 apartment homes with projected total capitalized cost of $3,526,000,000, and land or rights for 31 additional apartment communities with 9,997 apartment homes.
- Newer filing (2026-07-30) includes 'Second Quarter 2026 Real Estate Transaction Highlights' stating no real estate transaction activity during the quarter and a July 2026 sale of one wholly-owned community containing 217 apartment homes for $68,050,000.
- Removed:
- Older filing (2026-05-07) included 'First Quarter 2026 Operating Highlights' with net income attributable to common stockholders of $325,730,000, an increase of $89,133,000 or 37.7%.
- Older filing (2026-05-07) included Same Store NOI of $479,937,000 for the three months ended March 31, 2026, an increase of $1,087,000 or 0.2%.
- Older filing (2026-05-07) included Other Stabilized Residential NOI of $19,014,000, an increase of $15,713,000.
- Older filing (2026-05-07) included 'First Quarter 2026 Development Highlights' reporting 25 wholly-owned communities under construction expected to contain 8,673 apartment homes with projected total capitalized cost of $3,390,000,000, and land or rights for 30 additional apartment communities with 9,866 apartment homes.
- Older filing (2026-05-07) included 'First Quarter 2026 Real Estate Transactions Highlights' reporting the sale of three wholly-owned communities containing 884 apartment homes for $340,750,000, with a GAAP gain of $179,688,000.
- Reworded:
- Newer filing (2026-07-30) changes the section heading from 'First Quarter 2026 Operating Highlights' to 'Second Quarter 2026 Operating Highlights'; older filing (2026-05-07) used 'First Quarter'.
- Newer filing (2026-07-30) changes the period references from the three months ended March 31, 2026 to the three months ended June 30, 2026 throughout the operating and development highlights; older filing (2026-05-07) referenced March 31, 2026.
- Newer filing (2026-07-30) adds 'Development and Redevelopment Residential NOI' as a metric not present in the older filing's operating highlights.
- Newer filing (2026-07-30) changes the development count from 25 to 27 wholly-owned communities under construction and from 30 to 31 additional apartment communities; older filing (2026-05-07) reported 25 and 30 respectively.
- Newer filing (2026-07-30) changes expected apartment homes under construction from 8,673 to 9,064 and projected total capitalized cost from $3,390,000,000 to $3,526,000,000; older filing (2026-05-07) reported the lower figures.
- Newer filing (2026-07-30) changes expected apartment homes in land/rights pipeline from 9,866 to 9,997; older filing (2026-05-07) reported 9,866.
- Newer filing (2026-07-30) adds a real estate transaction note about a July 2026 sale; older filing (2026-05-07) instead reported first quarter sale activity.
- Notes:
- The newer filing text appears truncated at the end of the Communities Overview section, and the older filing text also appears truncated, so changes beyond the provided excerpts cannot be assessed.
AI-assisted comparison of two SEC filing sections. It describes wording and theme changes only, makes no materiality, legal, or investment judgement, and is not financial advice. Informational only — not financial advice.
Insider activity (SEC Form 4)
No open-market insider purchases or sales are on record for AVB — recent Form 4 activity was compensation-related (awards, option exercises, or tax withholding), not open-market buying or selling.
View full insider trading history → View SEC Form 3/4/5 filingsOnly open-market purchases (SEC code P) and sales (code S) are counted here. Option exercises, vesting/awards, gifts, and shares withheld for taxes are excluded — they are compensation or mechanical, not open-market conviction. Sales may be planned and non-discretionary (e.g. a Rule 10b5-1 plan) and are not necessarily bearish; open-market buying is not a recommendation to buy. Informational only — not financial advice.
U.S. House trading disclosures
U.S. House members publicly disclose their own, their spouse's, and dependent children's stock transactions under the STOCK Act. We hold 6 matched disclosures for AVB from U.S. House Clerk Periodic Transaction Report filings.
U.S. House trading disclosures →Short interest (FINRA)
AVB had 2,752,879 shares of reported short interest as of the 2026-08-14 FINRA settlement date (delayed, bi-monthly; not real-time).
AVB had 1.93% of its shares outstanding sold short as of the 2026-08-14 FINRA settlement date (percent of FLOAT would be higher — float is not disclosed in the source). FINRA reported 2.31 days to cover at the same settlement.
- Reported short interest (shares) 2,752,879
- Short interest (% of shares outstanding) 1.93%
- Prior settlement (shares) 3,752,768
- Reported change -26.64%
- Days to cover (reported) 2.31
Reported to FINRA as of the 2026-08-14 settlement date. Short interest is reported to FINRA and published on a delayed, bi-monthly schedule (as of a settlement date, disseminated roughly eight business days later) — it is NOT real-time, does not cover every venue or all US trading, and is not a short-squeeze prediction or investment advice. Days-to-cover is the value FINRA reports; percent of float is not shown because the source file carries no share-count denominator — where a percent appears it is of shares OUTSTANDING, the larger base, and is therefore a floor on percent of float. Informational only — not financial advice.
Competitors & peers
- Equity Residential (EQR)
- Camden Property Trust (CPT)
- Essex Property Trust (ESS)
- UDR, Inc. (UDR)
- Mid-America Apartment Communities (MAA)
- Invitation Homes (INVH)
AI-enriched competitor set. Linked names are companies covered by stocks-llm; other named peers are shown for reference only.
Compare AVB vs…
AvalonBay Communities is found in…
AVB ranks in…
Frequently asked questions
What does AvalonBay Communities (AVB) do?
AvalonBay Communities is a real estate investment trust (REIT) that develops, redevelops, acquires, owns, and operates multi-family apartment communities. Its portfolio primarily focuses on high-barrier-to-entry, high-growth markets in the United States, including the New England, New York/New Jersey, Mid-Atlantic, Pacific Northwest, and Northern/Southern California regions. The company also engages in the management of residential properties and provides development and other related services.
What sector is AvalonBay Communities (AVB) in?
AvalonBay Communities (AVB) is classified in the Real Estate sector. Its industry is Residential REITs. It trades on NYSE.
Does AVB pay a dividend?
Yes — AvalonBay Communities (AVB) pays a dividend, with an indicated yield of about 10.45% and 17-year non-decreasing per-share dividend streak (SEC EDGAR XBRL) (market data, as of 2026-09-03). Informational only — not financial advice.
Who are AvalonBay Communities's (AVB) competitors?
Notable peers of AvalonBay Communities (AVB) include Equity Residential, Camden Property Trust, Essex Property Trust, UDR, Inc. and Mid-America Apartment Communities. This peer set is informational only — not financial advice.
Has there been recent U.S. House stock trading in AVB?
Yes — we hold 6 matched STOCK Act disclosures for AVB from U.S. House Clerk Periodic Transaction Report filings. These are legally-required disclosures (often filed 30–45 days after the trade), may belong to a U.S. House member, their spouse, or a dependent child, and are not an indicator of company performance or investment advice.
Where does stocks-llm's data on AVB come from?
Fundamentals come from SEC XBRL company filings for the figures marked with a fiscal year, and market data, as of 2026-09-03 for the rest; prices are market data, as of 2026-09-03; company filings and profile facts come from SEC EDGAR. This listing has ended, so these are the last figures on record rather than current ones — informational only, not financial advice.
Fundamentals: SEC XBRL company filings for the figures marked with a fiscal year, and market data, as of 2026-09-03 for the rest. Filings: SEC EDGAR. Prices are the last daily closes recorded before this listing ended.
Last updated 2026-08-24.
Informational only — NOT financial advice. All figures are the last on record before this listing ended, from SEC EDGAR & market data, shown with their as-of date.